Canon 100mm f2.8 Non L Series

I’ve been asked and asked how I am getting on with this particular lens. Well, if you don’t tell anyone I’m kind of leaning towards thinking it is the most useable and versatile lens I own.

It was more than happy on my old Canon 500D and is equally as useable on the new Canon Full-Frame 6D i have. Truthfully I could not afford the L series with image stabilisation, so felt that this would work well for me as long as I recognised the limits of shaky hands šŸ™‚

Today someone who reads the blog gave me a nudge by way of an email to give an example of the close up attributes of this 100mm lens. Well the truth is I didn’t do many before and afters. I did however have the one below of a small bronze mouse. At just five centimetres long (2″) I’ve included it here in from of the iMac atop a compact camera case. The after is as close as I could get (focus), and then a small crop to show part of the same image in said close-up. If I find any more I will of course add them. Remember, this was taken using the 500D; not the new 6D. Actually it might be fun to replicate using the 6D. Click the individual images to go large.

Bronze Mouse Distance

Bronze Mouse Close-Up

